Ten Straight Days off

  • ← You can select the display language.

    Ten Straight Days off

    10連休


    Japan has consecutive holidays called “Golden Week,” and its period is ten days in 2019.
    日本にはゴールデンウィークと呼ばれる連休があり、2019年は10連休となりました。

    The details are shown as follows:
    その内訳は下記のとおりです。

    April 27 (Sat) … Saturday
    4月27日(土)・・・休日

    April 28 (Sun) … Sunday
    4月28日(日)・・・休日

    April 29 (Mon) … Shōwa Day
    4月29日(月)・・・昭和の日

    April 30 (Tue) … National Holiday
    4月30日(火)・・・国民の休日

    May 1 (Wed) … Enthronement of the Crown Prince
    5月1日(水)・・・皇太子殿下即位・改元

    May 2 (Thu) … National Holiday
    5月2日(木)・・・国民の休日

    May 3 (Fri) … Constitution Day
    5月3日(金)・・・憲法記念日

    May 4 (Sat) … Greenery Day
    5月4日(土)・・・みどりの日

    May 5 (Sun) … Children’s Day
    5月5日(日)・・・こどもの日

    May 6 (Mon) … Substitute Holiday
    5月6日(月)・・・振替休日

    Since the Crown Prince was enthroned on May 1, this day became a national holiday only in 2019.
    5月1日に皇太子殿下が即位されたため、2019年に限りこの日が祝日となりました。

    In addition, a weekday between national holidays also becomes a national holiday according to Japanese law, so both April 30 and May 2 became holidays.
    そして日本では祝日に挟まれた平日は「国民の休日」となるため、4月30日と5月2日が休みとなります。

    Furthermore, when a national holiday coincides with Sunday, next Monday becomes a substitute holiday, so May 6 became a holiday.
    さらに、祝日と日曜日などが重なった場合は、休日が減らないよう次の平日を「振替休日」とする制度があるため、5月6日も休みとなります。

    Due to the overlapping of several factors, it has become such a long holiday.
    幾つかの要素が重なり合って、このような長い連休になったというわけです。

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *